ELO Electronic Literature Organization

The Winners!

Fiction short list

Poetry short list:
John Cayley
Hilary Mosher-Buri
Dane Watkins
Kim White
Komninos Zervos
judge's comments


Judging criteria

2001 Awards Ceremony


by Geniwate


Nepabunna uses remote sensing data from the Landsat 5 satellite as the starting point, then progresses to a mythopoeia of contemporary technology (using Australian Aboriginal themes) and finally cites string theory as an example of the nexus between science/beauty/truth. Poetry and digital media combine to examine this nexus.


Geniwate came to electronic poetry via print and performance poetry. Experiment with visual and audio in performance put her in a good position to make the leap to electronic literature in 1997. She was co-winner of the 1999 trAce-Alt-X International Hypertext Competition with <rice>. Since then she has been exploring science, technoculture and mythology. <Nepabunna> is an initial phase in an ongoing exploration of these themes.

Geniwate's sites are are visible through idaspoetics.com.au, and are available on CD-ROM.


ELO acknowledges the support of our global sponsor, the Ford Foundation and the Rockefeller Foundation for their generous support of the Electronic Literature Directory project. We also thank our hosts at UCLA: the Center for Digital Humanities, the English Department, the Design| Media Arts Department, the School of the Arts and Architecture, and SINAPSE. We thank also the Illinois Humanities Council and the Illinois Arts Council, who supported the 2001-2002 Interactions program, 2001 Awards and founding sponsor ZDNet and founding sponsor NBCi.